## New measures for border enforcement (13) (Response to the Novel Coronavirus Variant (B.1.617) confirmed for the first time in India)

## May 18, 2021

- 1 All cross-border travelers and returnees from designated countries/regions with "coronavirus variant confirmed for the first time in India" are requested, for the time being, to stay at facilities designated by the Chief of the Quarantine Station (limited only to those facilities secured by the Quarantine Station). In addition, those who obtain a negative result of COVID-19 test conducted after three days of entry into Japan, may leave the facilities, but are still required to stay for the remaining period of 14 days after the entry into Japan at a location designated by the Quarantine Station (own residence etc.).
- Among all cross-border travelers and returnees from the countries/regions mentioned above, especially those from countries/regions with concern of facing a higher risk of an influx of the coronavirus variant (B.1.617) to Japan, judged from a comprehensive assessment factoring in the current infection status, results of the COVID-19 test during the quarantine inspection at the Japanese airports among others, are requested, for the time being, to stay at facilities designated by the Chief of the Quarantine Station (limited only to those facilities secured by the Quarantine Station) and then be tested for COVID-19 on the third and sixth days from the entry into Japan. Then those who obtain the negative results of both COVID-19 tests, may leave the facilities but are still required to stay for the remaining period of 14 days after the entry into Japan at a location designated by the Chief of the Quarantine Station (own residence etc.).

Among those foreign nationals, the re-entry into Japan of foreign nationals with status of residence from courtiers/regions with high concern will be denied, for the time being, unless there are special exceptional circumstances.

3 To ensure appropriate implementation of quarantine measures, the number of passengers on aircraft arriving in Japan from the designated countries/regions with the coronavirus variant (B.1.617), will be restricted for the time being and the total number of arrivals will be controlled while securing the return of Japanese nationals who so desire .

4 Short-term visits to the designated countries/regions with the coronavirus variant (B.1.617), particularly those with the intention of returning or re-entering to Japan, is strongly discouraged.

(Note 1) After implementing aforementioned measures 1 and 2, measures for countries/regions with community transmission of coronavirus variants of concern based on "New measures for border enforcement (8)" (February 2, 2021), will remain in effect. Cross-border travelers and returnees from countries/regions with community transmission of coronavirus variants of concern or designated countries/regions with coronavirus variant (B.1.617) are subject to measures which are stricter of both measures. In case that those measures are the same level, they are subject to one of those measures.

(Note 2) Along with the implementation of the aforementioned measure 2, "New measures for border enforcement (11)" (May, 7 2021) will be repealed as of 0:00am (JST) on May 21, 2021 and "New measures for border enforcement (12)" (May 12, 2021) will be repealed as of 0:00am (JST) on May 20, 2021, respectively.

(Note 3) Whenever the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare of Japan confirm, countries/regions with designation of the coronavirus variant (B.1.617) are designated and published.

Note that the denial of re-entry of foreign nationals with the status of residence mentioned in the second paragraph of the aforementioned measure 2 will be effective for countries/regions subject to denial of entry.

(Note 4) The aforementioned measures 1 and 2 are subject to persons who have stayed in the designated countries/regions with the coronavirus variant (B.1.617) within 14 days prior to the day of return or the day of application for entry.

(Note 5) The aforementioned measure 1 and the first paragraph of the aforementioned measure 2 will be applied from 0:00am (JST) on May 21, 2021. With regard to countries/regions which will be designated in the future, those measures will be implemented from 0:00am (JST) of three days after the designation. Moreover, the second paragraph of the aforementioned measure 2 will be applied from 0:00am (JST) on May 20,

(Provisional translation)

2021. With regard to countries/regions which will be designated in the future, the measure will be implemented from 0:00am (JST) of two days after the designation

(Note 6) As for the second paragraph of the aforementioned measure 2, foreign nationals with the status of residence of "Permanent Resident", "Spouse or Child of a Japanese National", "Spouse or Child of a Permanent Resident" or "Long Term Resident", who have departed Japan with Re-entry Permission by the day following the designation after the next designation and intent to re-enter Japan from those countries/regions, are treated, in principle, as persons in special exceptional circumstances. This, however, is not applicable to foreign nationals who depart Japan from two days after the designation. (In the event of re-entry from India, Nepal and Pakistan, foreign nationals with the status of residence of "Permanent Resident" or "Long Term Resident", who have departed Japan with Re-entry Permission by 13 May, 2021, are treated, in principle, as persons with special exceptional circumstances. Foreign nationals with the status "Special Permanent Resident" are not within the scope of this entry ban.

(Note 7) The second paragraph of the aforementioned measure 2 will not be applied to those who will depart those countries/regions (except for India, Nepal and Pakistan) before 0:00am (JST) of two days after the designation and arrive in Japan after this time.

(End)

1 Countries/regions subject to "1" of "New measures for border enforcement (13)"(except for courtiers/regions subject to the 2 and 3 below.) Finland, France, Greece, Ireland, Jordan, Netherland, Poland

\*The measure will be applied from 0:00am (JST) on 21 May, 2021.

2 Countries/regions subject to "1" and the first paragraph of "2" of "New measures for border enforcement (13)"(except for courtiers/regions subject to the 3 below.) Sri Lanka

\* The measure will be applied from 0:00am (JST) on 21 May, 2021.

3 Countries/regions subject to both "1" and "2" of "New measures for border enforcement (13)"

Bangladesh, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan,

\* The measure 1 and the first paragraph of 2 will be applied from 0:00am (JST) on 21 May, 2021. The measure has been applied to India, Nepal and Pakistan from 14 May, 2021.

\* The measure of the latter half of 2 will be applied from 0:00am (JST) on 20 May, 2021. The measure has been applied to India, Nepal and Pakistan from 14 May, 2021.